Key Questions After a Maryland Car Accident
Do I need to hire a Maryland-based accident lawyer?
Yes, even if you know a lawyer in another state, if your car accident occurred in Maryland it’s important to hire a Maryland personal injury lawyer for insurance company purposes. Your insurance company know when lawyers cannot practice law in Maryland and can use it against you. Robinson & Associates is based in Maryland, and we understand how Maryland differs from other states. Our intricate understanding of how insurance companies and the courts work has equipped us to navigate your case for your utmost benefit.
What do I do if I was the victim of a hit and run? Can I still file a claim?
Yes, you can and should still file an insurance claim if your accident was a hit and run, because unfortunately this happens more than you would think. Not only will we advise you to make a police report so they can try to find who was responsible, but we will advise you to share the honest truth with your insurance company because the car accident was not your fault. If they believe it was your fault, you will not get the maximum compensation necessary to pay back your property damage, personal injuries, and workers compensation.
Do I still need a lawyer if the car accident was not my fault?
Absolutely. Even if the insurance company offers you a claim the day after the accident, they will likely only offer $2,500, which may not be nearly enough to cover all of your medical and property damage expenses. When an insurance company makes an insurance claim offer, they never offer maximum compensation unless a lawyer is working on the case for you. Worse, many insurance companies may offer the claim quickly, but then you may experience major delays in actually receiving the money. The insurance company has all of the power in this case. We will work with you to make sure your money is paid quickly and on time — and that it’s the exact amount of money required to recoup costs from medical expenses and property damage.
What is my car accident case worth?
Your case value equation is very hard to determine and, as you can imagine, it can only be judged with the proper amount of information. It depends on your injuries and the medical expenses they ensue. It’s important to take diligent notes and documentation of the injury and advice from the doctor to determine the financial worth of your personal injury claim, including what workers compensation should be rewarded as an extent of your personal injuries.
Should I speak to Defendant’s Insurance?
Absolutely not. Your attorney should handle all conversations with your insurance company. Defendant’s Insurance is like a wolf in sheep’s clothing: you think you’re getting help, but everything you say can and will be used against you so that the insurance company can get out of paying you what you’re owed. Whatever you do, be sure your accidents lawyer navigates that conversation on your behalf.
What is a PiP? Do I need one?
A PiP stands for Personal Injury Protection, and is an add-on option for your insurance policy. The standard coverage addition can be around $2,500 for medical bills and lost wages. It’s important to make a claim for PiP even if the accident was the other person’s fault – it’s essentially “free money” you can claim in the case of an auto accident.
Can I make a claim if I don’t know who hit me?
Yes, you can make a claim against your own insurance company when you are hit by “a phantom driver”. A phantom driver is a car that hits your car and then takes off without giving you any information; this, of course, is against the law but it happens all too frequently. If you suffer injuries and damages either to your car or to your person as a result of this accident you should proceed forward just like any other accident in terms of seeking proper medical attention and seeking competent counsel to help you sort through the maze in order to receive fair and appropriate compensation.
Your insurance company cannot and will not raise your rates because you made a claim like this because the accident is not your fault and when the accident is not your fault they cannot increase your insurance premiums.
It is wise to call the police and at least make a claim or police reports when this happens to document for the insurance company what happened and when it happened so as to satisfy their curiosity of these types of claims.
How much do you get for pain and suffering in a car accident?
When it comes to calculating your car accident damages, we can review your medical bills, pay statements, and other documents showing expenses.