How and Why To file for PIP After an Accident

A Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance is a medical cover that covers all the expenses incurred when a car accident leads to injuries either to you, your passengers, or the other drivers. In most cases, these costs include medical bills as well as other expenses incurred that are not covered by your insurance provider such as a car wreck repair. A PIP insurance plan can cover expenses such as medical, funeral, lost income, child care, survivors’ loss, and household services expenses.
In most cases, a PIP is usually referred to as a “no-fault” insurance. What this means is that the PIP plan covers each person regardless of who might have been at fault. However, it should be noted that as much as your PIP policy is ready and willing to pay for all your expenses, it does not limit anyone the right to sue the driver who was at fault leading to injury. The “No Fault” insurance policy is available in states that have no-fault insurance laws such as the District of Columbia, Hawaii, New York, Florida, Kentucky, Kansas, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Michigan, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, North Dakota, and Utah. These laws usually eliminate the need to establish who might be at fault as well as the person responsible for repairing the car wreck before the expenses incurred as a result of the car accident are paid out.
In most states, depending on your state or residency, the law requires each driver to have a liability insurance plan since a portion of this insurance can be used to pay up the medical bills incurred after the accident. Additionally, the same law requires you to buy an extra insurance cover that must cover some of the medical care incurred as a result of an injury.
A PIP claim is a claim that you as the victim make against your insurance provider for them to foot the bills incurred as a result of the accident as well as lost earning. Once you have lodged your claim, your provider will reimburse the money depending on your stipulated amount or according to the set limit stipulated by your state. Some states usually have a two-part medical bill plan that requires the PIP to pay a small amount of the incurred expenses as long as the victim has another insurance plan. In simple terms, your PIP and health insurance plan share the cost of your treatment.
Once you have been involved in a car accident, you can lodge a file to have your money reimbursed by your PIP insurance provider. However, you need to know that PIP plans usually have a validity period. In most states, and depending on your insurance provider, you only have 14 days to lodge an official complaint to get your money back. If you don’t seek medical attention within these 14 days, then you will be required to waive of your PIP insurance coverage.
Hiring and Paying a Lawyer After a Car Accident
Though the PIP plan adequately covers both parties, most people have avoided the involvement of lawyers mainly due to the cost to be incurred as payments offered for the services rendered by the lawyer (s). However, as a point of advice, it is highly recommended for each driver to involve a lawyer once an accident has occurred. The notion behind this can be based on the fact that an attorney can help you lodge a claim with your insurance provider, and minimize the chances of facing the people involved in the accident in a court of law.
The good thing about hiring an attorney is the fact that you are not required to pay him/her upfront for the services that he/she is going to offer to you. In most cases, what happens here is that you will be required to pay a contingency fee. What this means is that you will only pay your attorney once the case has been settled. Apart from this, your legal representative will help in interviewing the witnesses, filing the correct documents, and keeping you in the know of what to expect from your case. In most cases, lawyers are only involved when the case has been taken to court.